Wellington - Christchurch

Wellington - Christchurch

3 weeks or 18 days

Itinerary 3  Wellington - Christchurch

Wellington – Napier – Taupo – Tauranga – Auckland (FLY to) – Queenstown – Milford Sound – Doubtful Sound - Bluff / Stewart Island – Dunedin – Christchurch.


Wellington is the capital and third-most populous urban area of New Zealand. It is located at the south-western tip of the North Island, between Cook Strait and the Remutaka Range. Wellington is the major population centre of the southern North Island, and is the worlds southernmost capital of a sovereign state. 


2 days

Napier is a New Zealand city with a seaport, located in Hawke's Bay on the eastern coast of the North Island. Napier is the nexus of the largest wool centre in the Southern Hemisphere, and it has the primary export seaport for north-eastern New Zealand – which is the largest producer of apples, pears, and stone fruit in New Zealand. The Hawke's Bay wine region is now the second largest in New Zealand after Marlborough, and grapes grown around Hastings and Napier are sent through the Port of Napier for export. Napier is a popular tourist city, with a unique concentration of 1930s Art Deco architecture, built after much of the city was razed in the 1931 Hawke's Bay earthquake. 


Taupo is a town on the shore of Lake Taupo, which occupies the caldera of the Taupo Volcano in the centre of the North Island of New Zealand. 


Tauranga is the most populous city in the Bay of Plenty region. The city lies in the north-western corner of the Bay of Plenty, on the south-eastern edge of Tauranga Harbour. Tauranga is one of New Zealand's main centres for business, international trade, culture, fashion and horticultural science. The Port of Tauranga is New Zealand's largest port in terms of gross export tonnage and efficiency. Tauranga is one of New Zealand's fastest growing cities


Auckland is a city in the North Island of New Zealand, and the country's largest city.  Auckland is a diverse, multicultural and cosmopolitan city, home to the largest Polynesian population in the world.


Queenstown is a resort town in Otago in the south-west of New Zealand's South Island. 

The town is built around an inlet called Queenstown Bay on Lake Wakatipu, a long, thin, Z-shaped lake formed by glacial processes, and has views of nearby mountains such as The Remarkables, Cecil Peak, Walter Peak and just above the town, Ben Lomond and Queenstown Hill.

Te Anau

Te Anau is a town in the Southland region of the South Island of New Zealand. Tourism and farming are the predominant economic activities in the area. Lying as it does at the borders of Fiordland National Park, it is the gateway to a wilderness area famed for tramping and spectacular scenery. Many tourists come to Te Anau to visit the famous nearby fiords Milford Sound and Doubtful Sound.

  • Milford Sound
    Milford Sound  is a fiord in the south west of New Zealand's South Island within Fiordland National Park, Piopiotahi (Milford Sound) Marine Reserve, and the Te Wahipounamu, a World Heritage site.

  • Doubtful Sound
    Doubtful Sound is a fjord in Fiordland, in the far south west of New Zealand. It is located in the same region as the smaller but more famous and accessible Milford Sound. It took second place after Milford Sound as New Zealand's most famous tourism destination. 


Bluff is a town and seaport in the Southland region, on the southern coast of the South Island of New Zealand. It is the southernmost town in mainland New Zealand and, despite Slope Point and Stewart Island being further south, Bluff is colloquially used to refer to the southern extremity of the country (particularly in the phrase "from Cape Reinga to The Bluff").

Stewart Island / Rakiura

Stewart Island, officially named Stewart Island/Rakiura, is the third-largest island of New Zealand. It lies 30 kilometres (19 mi) south of the South Island, across the Foveaux Strait. Its permanent population is 381 people, most of whom live in the settlement of Oban on the eastern side of the island.


Dunedin is the second-largest city in the South Island of New Zealand (after Christchurch). The urban area of Dunedin lies on the central-eastern coast of Otago, surrounding the head of Otago Harbour, and the harbour and hills around Dunedin are the remnants of an extinct volcano. The city suburbs extend out into the surrounding valleys and hills, onto the isthmus of the Otago Peninsula, and along the shores of the Otago Harbour and the Pacific Ocean. 


Christchurch is the largest city in the South Island of New Zealand. The Avon River flows through the centre of the city, with an urban park located along its banks. The trams, the gondola and punting on the Avon River are all very popular tourist attractions.  Akaora, a French settlement, is only an 80 minute drive where you can explore marine nature at its finest.

Contact Us Now