Christchurch - Auckland

Christchurch - Auckland

18 to 20 days

Itinerary 2   Christchurch - Auckland

Christchurch – Dunedin – Stewart Island – Wanaka – Lake Tekapo – Kaikoura – Marlborough Sounds – Wellington - New Plymouth – Taupo - Coromandel Peninsula – Auckland. 


2 days

Christchurch is the largest city in the South Island of New Zealand. The Avon River flows through the centre of the city, with an urban park located along its banks. The trams, the gondola and punting on the Avon River are all very popular tourist attractions.  Akaora, a French settlement, is only an 80 minute drive where you can explore marine nature at its finest.


2 days

Dunedin is the second-largest city in the South Island of New Zealand (after Christchurch). a

The urban area of Dunedin lies on the central-eastern coast of Otago, surrounding the head of Otago Harbour, and the harbour and hills around Dunedin are the remnants of an extinct volcano. The city suburbs extend out into the surrounding valleys and hills, onto the isthmus of the Otago Peninsula, and along the shores of the Otago Harbour and the Pacific Ocean. 

Stewart Island / Rakiura

Stewart Island, officially named Stewart Island/Rakiura, is the third-largest island of New Zealand. It lies 30 kilometres (19 mi) south of the South Island, across the Foveaux Strait. Its permanent population is 381 people, most of whom live in the settlement of Oban on the eastern side of the island.


Wanaka is a popular ski and summer resort town in the Otago region of the South Island of New Zealand. At the southern end of Lake Wanaka, it is at the start of the Clutha River and is the gateway to Mount Aspiring National Park.

Wanaka is primarily a resort town with both summer and winter seasons. It’s economy is based on the many outdoor opportunities this offers.

Lake Tekapo

Lake Tekapo is the second-largest of three roughly parallel lakes running north–south along the northern edge of the Mackenzie Basin in the South Island of New Zealand (the others are Lake Pukaki and Lake Ohau). 

The lake is a popular tourist destination, and several resort hotels are located at the township of Lake Tekapo at the lake's southern end. An astronomical observatory is located at Mount John, which is to the north of the town, and south of the small Lake Alexandrina.The Church of the Good Shepherd, The Bronze Sheep dog and the ski fields close by are well known attractions.


Kaikoura is a town on the east coast of the South Island of New Zealand. It is located on State Highway 1, 180 km north of Christchurch.

The infrastructure of Kaikoura was heavily damaged in the 2016 Kaikoura earthquake. The bay and surrounding region were uplifted by as much as 2 metres. 

Kaikoura is served by the Coastal Pacific long-distance passenger train, formerly called the TranzCoastal, which connects the town with Christchurch to the south, Picton and the Cook Strait ferries to the north. 

Whale watching, swimming with the dolphins and seals are in abundance.

Marlborough Sounds

The Marlborough Sounds are an extensive network of sea-drowned valleys at the northern end of the South Island of New Zealand. 

The Marlborough Sounds are connected to Cook Strait at the north-east extreme. At this point, the North Island is at its closest to the South Island, and the inter-island road, rail, and passenger ferry service between Picton and Wellington travels through the sounds.

Marine farming, especially of salmon, crab and mussels, is increasingly common, having started in the 1960s.


Wellington is the capital and third-most populous urban area of New Zealand. It is located at the south-western tip of the North Island, between Cook Strait and the Remutaka Range. Wellington is the major population centre of the southern North Island, and is the administrative centre of the Wellington Region, which also includes the Kapiti Coast and the Wairarapa. It is the world's southernmost capital of a sovereign state. 

Wellington features a temperate maritime climate and is the world's windiest city by average wind speed.

New Plymouth

New Plymouth is the major city of the Taranaki Region on the west coast of the North Island of New Zealand. 

Notable features are the botanic gardens (i.e. Pukekura Park), the critically acclaimed Len Lye Centre and Art Gallery, the 11 km (6.8 mi) Coastal Walkway alongside the Tasman Sea, the Len Lye-designed 45-metre-tall (148 ft) artwork known as the Wind Wand, Paritutu Rock, and views of Mount Taranaki/Egmont.

It is also noted for being a coastal city with a mountain within 30 minutes’ drive, where residents and visitors to New Plymouth can snowboard, ski, water ski and surf all in the same day.


Taupo is a town on the shore of Lake Taupo, which occupies the caldera of the Taupo Volcano in the centre of the North Island of New Zealand. 

Coromandel Peninsula

Whitianga is found on the Coromandel Peninsula, a 2.5 hour drive from Auckland. Whitianga is one of the major centres on the Coromandel. It lies on Mercury Bay and is a popular summer destination for many kiwis.

The Coromandel boast some of New Zealand’s most beautiful beaches, bush walks and is well known for fishing and diving.  Some of the most popular attractions in the Coromandel include Hot Water Beach, (local opinion) the best fish and chips in NZ and Cathedral Cove, made famous from the Narnia movies.


Auckland is a city in the North Island of New Zealand, and the country's largest city.  Auckland is a diverse, multicultural and cosmopolitan city, home to the largest Polynesian population in the world.

Contact Us Now